Kosher – it isn’t just for the Jewish

Last night at sunset marked the beginning of Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. Like any religion, Judaism has many traditions. And, when it comes to food, Kashrut is the Jewish law that details what can be eaten and how food should be prepared. For those of us who aren’t Jewish, you may be familiar with the word “Kosher.” Kosher describes foods that are made in accordance with Jewish law.

So why would non-Jews care about Kosher foods? There are many fascinating aspects behind Kosher foods but, some of my non-Jewish clients focus primarily on the fact that these foods have been processed according to stricter standards than their conventional counterparts.
For instance:
- All blood must be drained from the meat or poultry before it is eaten.
- Animals must have no diseases or flaws at the time of slaughter.
- Animals that die of natural causes are not to be eaten.
- Fat that surrounds the organs of animals may not be eaten.
- Fruits and vegetables must be inspected for bugs.
- The ingredients used to make the food are inspected.
There are several types of Kosher certification available and all correspond to varying degrees of strictness. Jewish individuals who grew up in strict Kosher households know the ins and outs of eating foods in accordance with the Jewish law. For those who aren’t Jewish, you may want to look for Kosher foods as an added assurance.
For more information, visit:
Kosher Quest (which has a searchable database of Kosher products)
About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s